top of page

Winter in Boston

What does winter look like in Boston?

As someone that grew up in Toronto, winter and dealing with it has been a life-long learning experience. I like to think I have enough experience under my belt that I can give you some tips and tricks for staying warm and dry, as well as my recommendations for things to do in Boston during the winter!

Tip 1 - If possible, invest in a good jacket and waterproof boots

A good jacket and boots are true winter staples, and I would say 100% invest in waterproof winter boots. These don't have to break the bank - especially during the holidays, as lots of brands offer sales! For my jackets, I tend to look for longer jackets (knee length or longer) that have down (or a down alternative), a hood, and a warm lining. Most of the jackets I have, I have had for years. I would recommend brands such as aritzia, karbon, uniqlo, and any outdoor brand (especially patagonia!). I would prioritize getting a jacket that has some water-repelling ability as well. I also love having a long wool jacket, as these are very warm and stylish! I would also say to check department stores, such as tjmaxx, as they often have great deals on these pieces. For shoes, I would highly recommend timberlands or sorels. These have been my choice, and the current pair I have now has lasted me SEVEN years!

One more thing to note - if you can afford it, Patagonia is an amazing option. They have a buy-back program that allows you to return any usable pieces of clothing (no matter how old) for a gift card!

Tip 2 - layering is your best friend!

Layering is important in the winter so you can keep heat close to your body, as well as dress up or down for going inside and outside. I personally love the heat-tech layers from uniqlo. They are thin and stylish, and they offer different levels of warmth. You can commonly find layers at places like tjmaxx as well!

Tip 3 - don't underestimate the power of a good hat or socks

I was always told that "cotton kills". Although a little dramatic, the message holds true! If it gets wet, cotton loses its insulating properties. This is why I pull out wool socks during the winter. Even if they get wet, they retain the ability to keep heat in, which is super important. They also tend to be quite cute!

Wearing a hat or headband is a great way to retain some extra heat while looking stylish as well. This also goes hand in hand with the layering tip!

Idea 1 - Skating at Frog Pond

Frog pond in the Boston commons becomes a skating rink in the winter! They offer skate rentals, and it's a beautiful place to enjoy some winter sporting fun.



Idea 2 - Snowport and SOWA Market

Snowport (in the seaport neighborhood) and SOWA (in the south end neighborhood) are both Christmas markets offering delicious food, and lots of local crafts for sale. Snowport is outside, and SOWA is inside. They are both super cute for the holidays, and I would recommend visiting their websites for more information!




Idea 3 - Christmas Walks

Boston does get decorated for the holidays, and it can be fun to go for winter walks to see it. I would recommend walking by Quincy market for some quick eats and adorable light decorations. Additionally, the Beacon hill neighborhood is picturesque and holds annual holiday strolls, which I would highly recommend going to see. Lastly, Boston Commons gets decorated with lights and trees, which are lovely to see at night.


IMG_9820.JPG

Hi, I appreciate you stopping by!

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog post. I post monthly and hope you will be back for more!

bottom of page