top of page

Fall in Boston

10/31/2022


Fall in New England

As a girl raised in Toronto, fall is always my favorite time of the year. I love seeing the beautiful leaves, being comfortable outside, and partaking in my favorite traditions like apple picking, celebrating Thanksgiving (which happens in Early October at home, unlike in the US), and harvesting the last of our summer crops. This has held true as I've lived in Boston, which is stunning during the fall. Here are some of my favorite things to do!



Apple Picking - Honey Pot Hill

Honey pot hill is a very popular place to go apple picking, and it's no surprise why that's the case. The farm itself is adorable, with an apple cider donut shack, a farmer's market, goats, and of course, apples! The apple picking is calm and serene, and hilly. They have easy-to-carry ladders scattered around which makes picking apples easy as well. The drive from the city is filled with hills and trees as well.

Apple Picking - Tougas Farm

This is my personal favorite farm to go to and was actually voted the 10th-best apple-picking destination in the country this year! They have over 30 types of apples, and this year, I tried the honeycrisp, crimson, jonagold, spencer, pinova, suncrisp, mutsu, topaz, young fuji, old fuji, and cortland varieties (yes, I ate my weight in apples). The bags have a helpful graphic which tells you more about the apple flavors and best uses. My personal favorites were the evercrisp and the topaz. The farm also has a general store, a doughnut shack, a food stall, and local vendors, as well as a pumpkin patch. I had so much fun going there this year! The drive was also beautiful, and I would highly recommend going.

Leaf Peeping

One of the activities I love doing the most for the fall is leaf peeping! There are several places in the city that are great for this, with the clear number one being the Boston Common park. The park is huge and very walkable and has amazing trees all around. It's absolutely beautiful and such a great place to relax. I went last weekend and grabbed lunch nearby and sat and ate it with my partner, and it was a great way to connect with each other and the nature around us. I would also highly recommend taking a walk along the esplanade and seeing the Charles River and the skyline with the fall colors is amazing!

Spooky Activities

Many restaurants and bars around the city prepare for the fall by offering Halloween-themed offerings (you know it's really fall when Dunkin starts offering their spider doughnuts), and it can be a great way to try out some seasonal flavors and support local businesses. I subscribed to the Boston.com newsletter, which sends out emails talking about all these kinds of things! There is also the Ghosts and Gravestones tour, which although a little touristy, is a great way to learn some spooky history about Boston.

IMG_9820.JPG

Hi, I appreciate you stopping by!

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog post. I post monthly and hope you will be back for more!

bottom of page